St. Vincent’s East Eavesdropping and such

My first visit to St. Vincent’s East, a dated but well maintained facility, was pleasant. Of course, I wasn’t the one having the surgery.

4939

As I sat in the Same Day Surgery waiting area, a young man in jeans and tennis shoes, sans nametag, was approaching those of us waiting for news asking “Do you want to donate blood today and save three lives?” At least that’s what it sounded like he said when I asked him to repeat it. I declined. Not that I’m opposed to giving blood. But I could envision me – the designated driver for my husband who was in surgery –  passing out after giving blood. I don’t think people who are awaiting news of their loved ones who are under the knife – or laser – are in a position to be giving blood. Just sayin’.

The Pink Lady was very friendly and helpful. I had taken her advice and gone downstairs for breakfast. I got a decent plate of bacon, eggs, and hash brown mush for just a little over three dollars. When I got back to the waiting area I picked a seat away from others and dug out my book. Later, after I came back from talking to the doctor, two men were sitting right behind me. I heard nearly all of their conversation.

“He’s the only one who’s done anything with his life,” said Guy One, speaking of one of Guy Two’s kids. This was because he was the only one who had gone to college. Yes, I think college is important, but it’s not the only way to “do something with your life”. I wonder what Guy Two’s other kids would think about this?

Then the discussion turned to doctors. Guy One began to talk about “white coat syndrome” and how being around doctors makes your blood pressure go up. I’m sure this is often true.

“Dr. ___ – I fired his butt like that! (snap of fingers). They overbook on purpose; they want every penny they can get.” said Guy One, obviously very opinionated.

Soon the conversation turned to cell phones, so I went back to reading Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck. When more friends/family arrived behind me, I heard the female say, “I been off Mountain Dew for three days, this is my fourth day”.

“What you drinkin’?” asks another lady

“Unsweet tea.”

Then Guy One, Mr. Opinion, pipes up, “They don’t put sugar in cold drinks anymore. It’s aspartame.”

So…..what you drinkin?

2 thoughts on “St. Vincent’s East Eavesdropping and such

Leave a Reply

