Where the Skies are So Blue

I felt the need to explain the title of my blog, since even my husband, a fairly decent Lynyrd Skynyrd aficionado, didn’t catch it. It’s from the song  Sweet Home Alabama.
“Big wheels keep on turning

Carry me home to see my kin”

Me and some of my kin   photo bomb
Yes, most of our kin are in Jacksonville, FL – ​our moms and brothers and many other extended family members. As I was driving home from my last trip to the beach (a sweet 35 minutes drive)  before we moved , the song came on the radio and I just began balling there in my car. ​With tears on my cheeks and the wind blowing my hair, I wasn’t sure what the coming year would hold. ​I was headed for Alabama​ where I have no kin. Now, after being  here a year, I still have no blood kin, but we have brothers and sisters in Christ here in B’ham. I still miss Jax, but I want so badly for Birmingham to be my new sweet home. So, one day when I sing “Carry Me Home” ​ I’ll be thinking of Alabama.
My other brothers and sisters  IMG_2129
“Sweet home Alabama
Where the skies are so blue”
B
B’ham blue skies  view1
4 thoughts on “Where the Skies are So Blue

  1. Hey, you have us next door in Georgia. I know what you mean though…it is not the same. After our trip, we hope
    To get over that way. Love you and I like your blog. You are so talented. Cousin Linda

  2. Neat blog entry! I will always feel like Alabama is my second home even though we were only there 2 1/2 years. I’m so glad I got to meet you and be your neighbor. Always enjoyed our good talks!

Leave a Reply

