Out of the Mouth of Babes – A Journey

Photo by Tina Phillips. Photo by Tina Philips

This month Alabama Women Bloggers has challenged its members to write about their blogging journeys.

The first blog I ever started had the Out of the Mouth of Babes in my url.  It was a Blogger/Blogspot  blog that now I can’t figure out how to access. I’ve tried all kinds of things to no avail. I hope one day I can figure it out and get my content back. If anyone out there has any helpful hints, please let me know.  Persistence paid off – I’m in!!!

Anyway, I started that blog when I was still teaching fulltime, using funny stuff culled from my students and some of my own poetry and personal essays. Now I’m a substitute teacher and I still find lots of gems in the classroom. I have two current blogs – this one which is B’ham focused, and another, Not In This Soup Alone, which is more personal.

Being in the classroom, especially as a substitute teacher, can be a real source of entertainment. Such as when students have to write sentences using their vocabulary words. In the spring I had fun reading some of the sentences created for the words floundered, laden, and remote. Laugh along with me…

The remote school is in the middle of the road.

I picture a one-room schoolhouse plopped down in the middle of a road in the middle of nowhere.

The woman floundered after getting tazed.

I believe I would flounder a bit if I was tazed, wouldn’t you?

The camel was floundered.

I wonder if the camel was also tazed? I think perhaps he was laden down with something illegal and thus he was tazed and floundered.

This is a laden place.

This was a dark coffeehouse full of beatniks quoting heavy poetry.

I’m sure when school resumes in August I’ll have more to share, so stay tuned. 🙂

Speaking of staying tuned, please subscribe so you don’t miss any of my posts!

One thought on “Out of the Mouth of Babes – A Journey

Leave a Reply

