A Tale of Two Cities

wf  Jax           wfalB’ham

No, I’m not talking Dickens here. I’ve never been to London or France. But, I’m talking Jacksonville, Florida and Birmingham, Alabama. Two cities of the south , one dear to my heart and one growing on me.

safe

Safe cracking in underground Jax

Before I left Jax, my BFF and I did as much exploring as we could. We’d both grown up there, but never knew there was a small underground tunnel downtown, originally built to transfer money between banks.  And now I know  B’ham has walkable/drivable tunnels with lights.

SAMSUNG

Florida Theater

Both cities have grand old theaters.  The Florida Theater, a lovely art deco masterpiece, was where I saw many a performance, from The Nutcracker on field trips with my students, to Leo Kottke with my daughter, to Boz Scaggs, The Temptations and The Four Tops, and Loretta Lynn  with my BFF. I have yet to visit the Alabama, but it’s high on my list. The cool thing is they were both built in 1927.

sjrtc

St. Johns River                                                                Railroad Park

The music scene flourishes in both cities, as well as Minor League baseball. There are lovely old buildings and  modern ones, including a Wells Fargo in both as you can see in my pictures above. What Jacksonville has that Birmingham doesn’t is the St. Johns River flowing in it’s midst. But, B’ham has numerous well kept parks and more restaurants that attract people. The downtown doesn’t shut down at 5pm, as I discovered on Thursday when I met my #capturetheham group at Urban Standard for a walk-about in the area. I look forward to more downtown exploring in the months ahead!

Leave a Reply

