I Hear the Train A Comin’

November Train - B'ham

November Train – B’ham

I hear the train a comin’
It’s rollin’ ’round the bend,
And I ain’t seen the sunshine,
Since, I don’t know when,

from Folsom Prison Blues by Johnny Cash

In early 2014, after we decided on a house and our offer was accepted, my husband looked on Google Maps and saw that the train runs very near our house. He was worried this was going to be a problem. But, I LOVE it! I don’t know what it is, but I enjoy hearing the whistle blow, which it does 4-5 times a day. I think if I could get through the brush and woods on the other side of our back fence I would be right at the tracks.

When I sit out on our back porch I can also hear the traffic. It’s not the horn-honking kind, just cars going up and down the road. I like that, too.

One thought on “I Hear the Train A Comin’

Leave a Reply

